Key Learning Areas

We believe that as with most aspects of learning in life, learning at school is not something that can easily be separated into distinct areas.

Teachers are aware for example, that when a child is working with a group on a science experiment, he or she might well be operating and working in a variety of ways - questioning and explaining, making, sharing and writing observations, drawing graphs, calculating results, consulting references and much more.

For this reason, teaching and learning is often integrated across several curriculum areas rather than taught as separate and discrete subjects. Class teachers ensure that their teaching program follows the guidelines set by the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) and covers all curriculum areas - Religious Education, and the six Key Learning Areas mandated for Primary Schools and specified in the NSW Education Reform Act (1990).

These areas are specified in the NSW Education Reform Act (1990) and are:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science and Technology
  • Human Society and Its Environment
  • Creative Arts
  • Music, Visual Arts, Drama
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education
  • Health Education, Physical Education, Personal Development

Come and see learning in action at St Madeleine’s Kenthurst!

We'd love a chance to show you how learning works for young people in our school. Our dedicated teachers plan the learning in detail to help each student do their best.

Enrol Now  What We Offer  Contact Us